Country Bike becomes City Bike

So many of you have probably been asking, “does Michelle’s back hurt?” I do have to admit that I’ve been a little neglective to all of our readers as of late, but that is about to change! I promise to try and write entertaining stories like Michelle!

Why have I been slacking, you ask? Well, I’ve finally completed my move to Lawrenceville (aka almost The 5.2!The 5.2!downtown Pittsburgh) and have found new motivation now that the moving, lifting, living out of boxes and my car is done with.
I am also lucky enough to be demoing the brand-spanking-new Trek Madone 5.2 this year! It’s one in Trek of Pittsburgh’s demo fleet (yours to have fun on for $40/day!).

The 5.2!This morning was my first commute to work in Shadyside via alternate mode of transportation. I was a little disappointed because it only took me 10 minutes and is a grand total of 2.2 miles one way, but it felt so good to stretch the legs out and breathe in the 9am morning air enroute to work. Initially I had been a little apprehensive riding in traffic, seeing as I was used to riding in suburbs and wide open back country roads, but the experience was indeed exhilarating – I even tap-tapped my way into the WholeFoods pastry section wearing my commuting gear (Fox Incline gloves, Castelli women’s fleece knickers, Pearl Izumi Vagabond jacket, and Sidi road shoes with Speedplay cleats)!

It’s now kind of drizzly, but I’m excited about riding home… after all, it’s only 2 miles. And I need to work off that breakfast muffin. -Jessie

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle on March 28, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Congrats on completing your move! You should explore for some longer routes to lengthen that commute each day. I recommend picking up a Allegheny County / Pittsburgh Streets Map (usually at any gas station) so you can learn a lot of the streets tucked all around you that you may never find otherwise. Then you can try new routes as often as you want. I use a Butler county one regularly. When I need to go out for a longer training ride I’ll pick a new route before I start or at least a new road to head for and help keep me out longer, then figure out my way back from there. I suggest you pack your map each ride when exploring though just in case you need to re-route or end up lost, which can be fun at times too. I’m jealous you can commute on bike. Have fun! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

