ACA Tuesday Night Crit by mj

Motivation from my roadie friend Sharon, who is now also on the ACA board this season, pursuaded me to revisit the womens criterium race after a four year sabbatical.  It seems that women cycling in Pittsburgh is really growing these days and for the very beginning of the season and before the points even start for the summer series the turn out is already in the double digits for two weeks in a row.  Thats great!  The ladies line up with a few juniors on board and Steve-o gave us a few pointers, safety tips and rule reminders before we get rolling… 

Ding-a-ling-a-ling.. go!  Everyone lines up and starts the pace line around.. I attempt a few MAR (most aggressive rider) laps and succeed at a couple, but feeling the lactic acid brewing (“ssssss”.. thats my burning legs sound) I fall back and settle into the draft… ding-a-ling-a-ling PRIME LAP… some junior tears around the whole group and the entire pack picks up… oh mumma!… three girls drop the pack and pull away into their own race… Krista pulls away now too and takes the juniors with her.. doh!..  I’m still hanging on feeling the repercussions of a wannabe mar rider… now very far from the mar riders! haha.  Ding-a-ling-aling.. final lap!… I attempt to get back in front of Sharon who had been pulling our group for several laps but it takes almost the entire loop for me to get around her… last bend.. I gear down, stand up, and lay down every ounce of energy I had left to sprint into 8th place.  31 minutes of full throttle riding!  What a rush!

It was great to see some long time no see roadie girlfriends!  Amy still rocking out on her bike and helping to keep the ACA going strong!  Krista, a mumma of two and ski junkie thru the winter, proved she hasnt slowed down any in 4 years either!  And Sharon, giving it 110% as always, but feeling the consequences of backconcerns superseding training so far this year.  With the season underway now I’m certain her love and dedication will have her back up front very, very soon!  Props to the ACA for having such a well organized event.  I’m not sure how many I’ll attend since my mtb schedule will always takes precedence, but I definitely hope to make it down there a few more times this summer.  Good stuff.  🙂

One response to this post.

  1. PROPS!
    come back. bring more women!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

