My New Custom Cycling Shoes!

Yesterday I received my first pair of Shimano’s custom heat mold-able cycling shoe, called the WR80’s. I was really excited to find the box sitting on my desk, and part of my obligation to our great Shimano representative is to do some reviews on the product.

The WR80’s come with their own shoe bag in the event that greasy drivetrains come too close to the white parts – and boy is there alot on these shoes! The first thing I noticed about the WR80’s(affectionally called “easybakes” in the cycling industry) is how well designed they are. Us girls do have to look good after all… we all know it makes us feel a little bit better when slugging up that last climb at the end of the ride; and the easybakes certainly passed my aesthetics test. They also feature a “sharkskin” type of fabric on the inside of the heel cup to keep a socked foot snuggly in place, offset velcro and ratchet straps to eliminate hot spots on top of the foot, and a nice roomy footbed that narrows towards the midfoot and heel. Did I mention they’re ventilated quite nicely also?

Installing my speedplay cleats was a bit of a challenge as the carbon sole is more shapely than that of my old women’s Sidi’s (check back for a comparison review). They required an extra (or thicker) shim to be installed in my case, so if you’re not completely comfortable changing out and transferring cleats, I’d take them to your nearest local bike shop.

I didn’t get a chance to ask one of our sales staff to go through the custom “baking” process, and took advantage of the fact that the WR80’s can be ridden right out of the box. I’ll report back on my opinion regarding whether to get the shoes molded (a 30 minute process that can be done at any of the T.O.P. shops) right away, or get a few rides in them first.

My easybakes are a size 40, and must be ordered a size down (I’m usually a 41 euro fit)….yes, big feet, haha. On their leisurely 26 mile inaugural ride, they were stiff, responsive, kept my foot in place with plenty of ventilation. They are very ergonomically shaped on the interior of the shoe, which made them comfy even though they hadn’t been “baked” yet. My favorite aspect that I know I’ll like even more once they’re molded, is that the Shimano’s have a roomy toe box that helps keep the toes from cramping or becoming overheated – quite a nice change from the Sidi’s (which have a much narrower, fully leathered toe box). If you like to have plenty of room for your toes, I highly recommend the WR80’s! I also recommend scheduling a cleat alignment with any new shoes, especially since the soles of my old shoes to the new WR80’s were so drastically different (in a good way!). Again, all of the T.O.P. shops are set up to do professional cleat alignments.

Cons? The big turnoff for most women is the price tag; at $250 a pair, these penny loafers ain’t cheap. But I have a sound rebuttal to that:

In the last year, how much have you spent on jeans? Possibly splurging on new make up at the Chanel counter, or even being a sucker for Macy’s shoe sale days? What I’m getting at is, without even realizing it, you’ve probably dropped far more than $250 on apparel items (or other shoes) that you won’t wear half as much or spend nearly as much time in as your cycling shoes. We all know that a high quality pair of kicks feel much better at the end of an 8 hr day, or that the designer handbag lasts years longer than a department store bargain deal. The Shimano WR80‘s fall into this category that will surely provide the quality, comfort and performance in the spin studio or out on the road for years to come. A must-have investment, for sure.

2 responses to this post.

  1. those shoes are hot, i’d hit it.

    Reply

  2. Similar Articles. Why You Need Triathlon Cycling Shoes; Recent Articles. Triathlon Run Training; Beginner Triathlete Sprint Triathlon…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

