mj D.C. style

I havent had any time to write in the last week or I would have continued with some details to the awesome crit race from last Tuesday, but now its been long enough I dont feel like recapping a week ago.  My bad.  However, this past weekend my mom and I headed down to D.C. to visit my bro, who snagged a sweet job there a few months ago.  My twin bro and fellow “mj” aka Mark. 

First, DC was WAY too hot!  It seems that part of the country is all anti-clouds this time of year and the blaring sun shines down relentlessly no matter what your trying to do. A perfect weekend to realize how much your deodorant doesnt de-odor anything.  At least riding you can justify and accept stink, but tearing it up pedestrian style and getting all rank is just uncomfortable and yucky.  Second, it seems that after several years of commuting ONLY via 4 wheels or 2 wheels I have lost the ability to walk more than a few feet at a time.  After a day and a half of walking all over D.C and surrounding areas I pretty much crippled myself as my calves were screaming (no lie, they were seriously crazy mad AHHHHHHH!!!!!)  sore and felt like they could explode out of my legs at any moment.  By mid Saturday I was forced to take smaller steps and could barely manage a full stand… looking like a somewhat younger 75 year old. Huh.. that cant be good.  I first had concerns how my mom would feel with the somewhat busy and long days and I ended up being the slow poke as I struggled through the foreign “foot traffic” feeling and they had to wait for me at times.  Bummer.  I guess I have to work on that.  I forever feel like I do not ride enough, so the last thing I want to do is cross train during the summer months.  I am seriously a single minded all bike all the time kinda girl.  I’m okay with that, but I guess not all of me parts are so appreciative.  I hope just stretching more might help the situation, but I do not know.  I’m open to opinions and suggestions if you got’em.

Anywho, I was beyond impressed with the massive effort into bike trails throughout the entire area!  For being such a large metropolitian area I dont think there was an area you could not get to via bike.  Bike signage gallore, all trails named, bike lanes e-v-e-r-y-w-h-e-r-e, just non-stop biker friendliness!!  Ohhh, it was just so beautiful!! (tear.. wipe.)

  

 

 

 

I know we have a lot of efforts taking place in Pittsburgh working to safely unite motorists and cyclists in the area, but it showed me how much work the city has to do to catch up to our neighbors.  Next time you have time to stop through the D.C. area make sure you pack your wheels!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mark aka Bro on August 20, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Nice pictures. There was nothing in there about you forgeting your keys…twice…within 25 minutes of waking up.

    Anyway, it was an awesome time, next time we’ll have to get in a better trail/urban ride.

    Till then I’ll be exploring the network of trails that cover the entire DC metro area. (DC, VA, MD) From what I understand you can bike from DC to PGH via trails now. I’ll look into that.

    Reply

  2. Hence why I LOVED living in DC this summer………

    Reply

Leave a Reply

