I’m a Legacy Relay rider by mj

First and foremost, my head is on straight again!  The hilllls are aliiiive with the sound of muuuuusic.. ahhh ahhh ahhhh ahhhhhhh!!  Yeah, I am THAT kind of happy!!  🙂

Now with that said, I signed up as a Pittsburgh 250 Legacy Relay Rider for this weekend!  I was waiting to see if my head/neck felt better before I knew if I could actually partipicate or not, and I am very happy that I know I can go now. 

The relay starts in Georgetown today around 1pm and riders pedal straight through the next 24 hours and finish up in Pittsburgh tomorrow afternoon between 1-2pm.  We’re straight representin’ George Washington and delivering a proclamation from the US Congress.  Oh yeah!! 

Since I signed on pretty late the options were limited to say the least, but I was able to sign on for Leg 14 with a start time of 5:49am.  Whew, thats early!  But my starting point is a little closer to home than the other available spots and I’ll be up and riding with the sunrise!  All bike riders really should try that at least once.  Seriously.  

If your interested you can join in and ride the final stretch too!  Pick somewhere in town (Hot Metal Bridge/Southside Works, Station Square, PNC bank by the jail), ride the final few miles and join in the celebrations and the re-opening of Point State Park, which is FINALLY opening after much t.l.c. for about the last 18 months.  Did they bedazzle the trees or what!?  Depending on how I feel I may or may not check out the final leg and celebration into the park Saturday afternoon.  With a 4am wake up call I cannot predict my afternoon sleepiness or mood, so I’m definitely just a “maybe” for now. 

Lastly, if your on-line and have any interest they are actually tracking the relay on this website.  Pretty cool.  I definitely hope to check it out this afternoon before I head towards the rails to trails myself! Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

