the Race 2 Anyplace thru the eyes of a BELLA

mj-bringing-the-dirt

As the BELLAs arrived on Saturday morning we quickly noticed we brought some of the trails with us. heehee (so easily amused)!  We swapped out the caged pedals for some SPDs hoping we’d feel more at home on the spin bikes.  I’m sure it helped our riding, but the pedals definitely hindered our transitions.  The resistance on the bike was so low that we had to come to a complete stop each time we transitioned so we could clip in.  Later on we made attempts to keep the pedals spinning forward but it just wasnt happening.  Disaster was waiting to strike at any moment and in fact we did have one casualty for the day.  A rider (to remain nameless) totally hit the ground!  It was freaking legendary and I will forever hold that moment close to my heart! LOL!  It’s our own fault for not checking the tension of the borrowed pedals before the race started.  Whatev!  BELLAs are tough and we rock it out no matter what! 

I started the day with the first 15 minutes.  I felt good but failed to take notice of the speedometer and have no idea how fast I maintained through the first interval.  I did notice we were at 8 miles when I was done, so I guess that was okay.  8 miles in 15 minutes..  yeah, thats realistic.  I do that all the time.  We continued to pay attention to our speed and then could work to maintain a certain pace or (attempt) to pick it up a notch if we saw we were slowing.  It did really help keep you focused.  Our line up then went to Kelly, Lauren, Lee Ann, Charlene, then back to moi.  This ended up working out really great since it put Lee laAnn as our last rider of the day and if we had any chance of making up any final miles she was going to make it happen for us!  Charlene, Kelly, Lauren and I are mainly mountain bikers, but Lee Ann (aka L.A!) who is also a rockstar mountain biker is foremost a roadie and crit master these days, so this fast cadence sprinting crap is right up her alley!  haha.  I totally ended up being the heavyweight and slowest of the team, but I was still happy with my performance overall.  You can only expect to get out what you put in and I’ve been grinding on my single speed all winter.  

So the ENTIRE day we trailed behind the Lifeforce Ladies.  We were 2 miles back.. 4 miles back.. 2 miles back… we just could not catch ’em!  AND they sat two rows in front of us so we were physically behind them all day too.. hahahaa!  Thats funny stuff, I dont care who you are.  Of course we wanted to win, but in all reality we were in a foreign land with these weird space bikes that ride in place, and (I’m pretty sure) these ladies rock out indoors on a regular basis.  We were on their turf and they were letting us know it!  Props to Lifeforce Ladies for showing us how its done!  Let’s not forget that we were not far behind though and they must have felt our heat all day too.  A most beautiful gathering of rock star females pushing each other to the limits.  Good times!  The final mileage put us under a mile behind them (doh!), but when its all said and done:  LL takes victory, Pgh BELLAs 1st place losers. haha!   

Our team really did great overall too.  I am seriously so, so proud!  Every BELLA gave 110% on the bike.  I so knew they would, but seeing it in action just makes me all GIRL POWER and BELLAs RULE and a lil teary proud of each one of them.  I LOVE YOU, BELLAs!   Congrats and props to all the riders in attendance, as this event is never as easy as it looks.  We all had such a good time and MOST IMPORTANTLY we were all there to raise money for cancer and the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society!  Think six hours of riding is tough?  Try chemotheraphy!   God Bless all of the LLSA patients and families.  See you next year!  🙂

I was totally yelling at this point. Whatever it takes! AHH!

mj

 Kelly was taking care of biz while we were tacklin’ Iceberg.

bellas-iceberg

LA just finished it up for us. Rockstars are we! 🙂

all-done

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Judy Dominici on March 4, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Hey, what about an article on Lifeforce Ladies? I am one of the three women over 50 years old that raced on Saturday February 28th. We may have only won by under 2 miles but quite an age difference wouldn’t you say? Thank you BELLA’S for such great competition. This was our first year doing this race as well. Team Lifeforce (the other team from our gym) did spin last year. This year Lifeforce took first place for the Health Club Category and overall total miles clocked with 228 miles!! The team of eight people had one gentleman over 50 as well! It just goes to show you 50 at our gym is the new 30!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by MJ on March 4, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    When I saw the first rider going all road runner on the bike I knew it was going to be an interesting day! haha. We were impressed and giving it all we had ALL day! Saying the “soccer moms are kicking are a$s!” I mean that in the kindest regard! Your team made that day so much more fun for us. Nothing beats a good healthy competition! I intended to come over and introduce myself at the cafe, but once the waitress brought my burger over everything else went blurry and it was just me and my plate. Congrats to all of you and way to represent the new 30’s! Lifeforce Ladies rock out! Hope to see you all next year.. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by LF member on March 4, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Props to the other group, Biker Chicks?…They were were amazing. They only had 2 people on their team!

    Reply

  4. Posted by MJ on March 4, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    AGREED! I meant to get a photo with them also and the day just went by so quickly. I had several good intentions, but thats all they ended up being.. my bad. Biker chicks rule! ALL biker chicks rule.. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by MJ on March 4, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Biker Chicks Team!? If you find this I’m curious if you have done anything like that before or if this was a random “hey, wanna go pedal for six hours?”.. “sure.” Toss me a line if you find me! Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

