Namaste

A simple yet powerful word & gesture with many beautiful meanings, but my favorite is “The God Spirit within me recognizes and honors the God Spirit within you.”  I just returned from my second yoga vacation.  I have no interest to force feed anyone anything, but I gotta say yoga has to be one of the most rewarding habits I could have ever started in my life. Definitely neck and neck with my two wheeled addiction.  If you ever pondered, just maybe for a moment of trying it, I couldnt recommend it more.  It can be as relaxing or exhausting as you want, mentally and stress-relieving, peace of mind making and as physically challenging as any other sport/activity.. and I’ll leave the yoga props at that.

Every time I am far away from home I am reminded how much I love it.  I was blessed enough to spend a week on a beautiful island, clear green blue waters, white sand and sunny skies, but it is only a place I like to visit.  As I flew home the skies were clear enough to see the earth below.  I love to see the different colors and shapes.  Forests and farms surround neighborhoods and cities.  Clean lines of divided properties and roadways.  Flat terrain turns rolling and eventually mountainous.  Palm trees got nuthin on our North Eastern, Mid Atlantic, Western PA awesome trees! Seriously!!

The Pilot gives us a shout that we are 45 miles outta the Burgh so I tuck my book away, get a stupid grin looking out the teeny window for anything I can recognize.  We are paralleling a river and I’m trying to figure out which one.  What do a notice first?  Kennywooood!!  I felt like a big kid wanting to poke my stranger neighbor to say “I see Kennywood!! Hee hee!!”   We continue over the Waterfront, possibly directly over my brothers house (Wud Up, my Brutha!) and I get TOTALLY pumped to look down on Frick park and can see all the slag trails just waiting for my return.  🙂  So excited!  The trees, rocks, roots, seasons, beauty, City, neighborhoods, foods, friends, family, all of it completes my yinzer world.  I cannot wait to get on my bike and ride my home trails.  Life is good.  I am blessed. 

A few inspirational quotes / reminders before you go…

“All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become.”

“However many holy words you read, however many you speak, what good will they do you If you do not act on upon them?”

“Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.”

“Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.”

Lastly, for any inquiring minds that might want to know.  I was raised a Christian and will remain one.  I believe in one God, but that He has many names.  I enjoy learning  about other cultures and religions.  Seeing the contrasts and comparisons between them.  When an intent is to spread love and peace how could it ever be considered wrong?  A rhetorical question nonetheless. 

Whether it be a week, day, hour or 5 minutes take time for yourself.  You deserve it.  Om Shanti. (Peace)

Leave a Reply

