APCXS#3 Lil’ Washington Report

What a weekend!  It all started way back on Friday when I looked up the directions to the Little Washington APCXS #3 race!  Word!  I ALMOST didnt go.  Feeling all tuckered from the work week.  Then Friday night I noticed I had a flat tire on my Presidio since it hasnt been touched since Grove City.  I felt like it was a sign.. sleep in MJ. You deserve some extra z’s and some hard core laziness!  Then I realized I didnt even have to get up too early.  I also actually have a road license from racing some earlier this year.  Then I looked up and saw how many buds were going to be there.  I was so in

I cannot even begin to imagine how someone thinks up that kind of course and then actually begins to map out over a mile plus of all those freaking posts and tape!!  I’m thinking you have to have a small piece of insanity to pull off something like that.  (Totally love you J.R… and all the crazies that do it!!)   What a FUN course!!   When I found the barriers had a slight off camber-ness to them I took some extra effort working on my dismount before the race and had a few seriously botched efforts not being able to do it at all at first.  Yikes!  I gotta say for being seriously inefficient and still cannot get a “jump” out of me if my life depended on it, I felt I had the smallest, baby pea sized bit of improvement during the race.  I actually HUSSLED in between the barriers and everything!  I’ve been super disappointed that I have been unable to attend any of the local cross practices due to being out of town every Tuesday night.  ONE night a week I am out of town and I miss the whole summer crit series and now cross practices.  DOUBLE EH!!

Here’s what my cross race involved:

* What a cluster !#$& at the start!  I imagined one of those wedding dress sales at Filene’s basement and I now have a full appreciation for the term “hole shot”!

* I got hit in the head with a tire on the first lap.  Seriously.  I’ll leave that for your imagination. It was minor but unexpected and funny.

* Each lap I tried to gain ground on the flat sections and each lap I realized I left too much on the straightaways.  Those grassy flats are a real sonofabitch and want you to think they are easy, but they are not!  Liars!!

* I’ve been around and have known of Pam Milavec for a while now, but I finally officially met her after she completely schooled my ass for 40 minutes.  It was a freaking BLAST racing with her!

* I found a carrot on my last lap and mustered up a little more energy to catch and pass her!!  Oh my heavens, I”M RACING AGAIN!! *tear.. sniffle.. smile*

* Betsy caught and passed me in my last lap.  Her competitiveness and sweetness is a combination that may never be matched.  I love when I get to race with her and was GRATEFUL I didnt have to do another lap!  I cannot believe how much a 40 minute gig mangled me.

* I survived to the finish and got the worse head ache since I can remember!  Then I actually reached into my chest and pulled out my beating heart like that dude on Indian Jones!!  Ok, maybe that did not actually happen, but it totally felt like I could.  Then I took some Aleve and got my heart rate back to an acceptable rate.. and headed straight to Burger King for a Whopper!  So good!

Holy time efficient racing!!   Endurance whodawhat!?  Wheredahowlongit?   I’m digging me some crossy fun!   Short and painfully sweet.  I can NOT wait to do it again.  I’m hoping for some more appropriate cross weather too.  I love me some slippin’ and slidin’!!  Time to see what this Marilla gig is all about! 

I meant to post about Moraine tonight also but I’m exhausted and will throw that at you another time.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Pam on October 27, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    Michelle, you are so funny! I loved reading your race report! You really nailed it! I was so bad on those (slight???) off-camber remounts – guess what I was working on today? Hope to see you at Marilla.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

