Cyclocrossists Unite!

So I intended to log online tonight and rock out a few hours of solid work and I find myself searching through cross pics and seeing when online pre-registration closes for Saturday’s race.  As I sit back and evaluate the awesomeness of this series I cant even attempt to focus on my work load tonight and have this overwhelming urge to itemize a few ridiculous yet creditable points as to why I have fallen into this deep abyss

x.  It simultaneously has the most serious and focused of racers and the non-serious, costume promoting, obnoxious heckling, cow bell mangling, pastry tossing (is that everywhere or just Pittsburgh?) and all around madness than any other race series offers.  My multiple personalities and worlds collide!

o.  While even though most, if not all, courses are a mere 1.5 miles in length the expectation of bike part distruction and/or death is expected and pit areas are always provided.

x.  Its got a funny shout out on Urban Dictionary:

Jan: “Why is that guy running and carrying his bike? Shouldn’t be he riding it? What an idiot!”

Sally: “No, silly, he’s not an idiot. He’s a cyclocrossist!”

o.  Where skinsuits are expected even though its (usually) cold, damp, muddy conditions… forcing port-o-john users to strip down to complete nakedness to take a pre-race pitstop?  Seriously?  I’ll take the chances with my jersey and pockets.  How else do you carry your donuts!? 

x.  Where the 1/2/3 men’s are going full throttle, ludicrous speeds while I get to assist in a side line keg stand.

o.  Where I am racing for a mere 40 minutes and am getting some of the best work outs I’ve had all year.

x.  Where I can also completely suck, but am still surrounded by racers and tucked within the painful madness for the whole race.

o.  Where D.Powers completely empties his tank all over the parking lot (what seems to be a common theme to all races) and A.Shelmire takes beer hand offs (what hopefully becomes a common theme to all races).

x.  Where my errands this week include bike shop maintenance, bakery and weekly practice of running, remounts and donut tossing.

o.  Where even though I have the crazy and overwhelming desire to be lazy and stay home during my November weekends I have the chance to get some sweet ass fun work outs in with some of the craziest people I know.  It is stoopid fun!  

x.  And I almost forot to mention the sweet tunes they blast during the races too!  EXCEPT when someone lets out some Peter Gabriel during Marilla!?  Come on!   Love him but NOT crossy approved!

See yinz in Morgantown! 🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by JR Petsko on November 9, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    OK lets see if I can help with the donut question. Last year at Marilla donuts hand ups started along with beer hand ups. Powers took it to a whole this year by grabbing a few of the donuts and hammer Montana with them. The rest is history and I think we have something original to are races now, lol..

    Reply

  2. Posted by todd on November 10, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    OH!!!! Look who loves cyclocross!! And who was calling me crazy when I was fgetting pumped for cx season in August?? 🙂 🙂

    Reply

  3. Todd, I still think your crazy for getting so pumped for cx in AUGUST and I still do not.. cannot take it as seriously as you do. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

